Bulfinch Hall, Philips Andover Academy

Designed by architect-builder Asher Benjamin in 1819, Bulfinch Hall has survived fire and transformations from classrooms to dining hall to gymnasium before becoming home of the English Department in 1936-37. Over a decade, Pamela Hawkes as Principal with ABA studied approaches to make the landmark accessible while minimizing impact and cost.  A contemporary structure tucked in the rear adds two state-of-the-art media classrooms, while a new faculty room and vibrant period colors subtly enhance collaboration and teaching within the historic building.  An outdoor classroom, the addition’s green roof and new furniture built from trees harvested on site all embed a new message of environmental sustainability in this campus icon.